Sri Lanka retains T20 squad for India series


Barring the injured players and an additional player “subject to ministerial approval,” Sri Lanka’s squad for the T20 series against India this month is the same as the one that toured Australia.

Dasun Shanaka has been named captain, and Charith Asalanka is the vice-captain. Leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who was ruled out of three T20 matches against Australia earlier this month due to a COVID-19 infection, is back.

ALSO READ – India squad for SL series: Rohit Sharma named Test captain

Injured players Avishka Fernando, Nuwan Thushara and Ramesh Mendis are out.

In the 18-member squad, SLC also included a 21-year-old off-spinner Ashian Daniel, “subject to ministerial approval.” Daniel hasn’t played any international match in his career.

Sri Lanka lost the T20 series against Australia 4-1.

The T20I series against India will be held from February 24 to February 27.


Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka (vc), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Thikshana , Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel (subject to ministerial approval).


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: AZ