Izuchukwu Anthony: Spartan Trnava defender joins Nigeria after being late


The central defender from Slovakia teamed up with Austria’s Gernot Rohr’s team after receiving a late invitation

Spartak Trnava’s Izuchukwu Anthony won the call for the Nigerian senior national team in an international friendly against Cameroon on Friday.

The 23-year-old was invited to provide coach Gernot Rohr with defensive options after a regular facial injury.

They include Ola Aina of Turin, Semi Ajay of West Bromwich, Zaidou Sanussi of Porto, Tyron Ebéch of Benfica and Hoffenheim’s Kevin Akpoguma.

Anthony is a member of the Nigeria U23 team and failed to impress at the 2019 Africa U23 National Cup in Egypt.

There, he participated in all competitions, but the men of Imama Amapakabo failed to pass the group stage-which ultimately cost them their seat at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

In the 2020-21 season, he participated in 18 league games and Michal Gasparik’s team scored 35 points with 22 points, ranking fourth.

After arriving at the Austrian camp of the Super Eagles, he is expected to train with the rest of the team on Thursday morning-the day before the indomitable Lions match at the Wiener Neustadt Stadium.

Despite the exhaustion of the team, the head coach Rohr has had a positive impact from the absence of key players and said that the match with the five-time African champion will help his team prepare for the September World Cup qualifiers.

“The training courses are okay; the conditions are good. The grass is good and the weather is not too hot. I think we can prepare in Austria,” the German tactician told the NFF website.

“You will see so many players not coming to this test match. This is an opportunity to try other players, see new faces, and then have the opportunity to do something.

“It is also important to prepare for the World Cup qualifiers against Liberia and Cape Verde. Therefore, we must use this opportunity to prepare and have a wonderful game in the team.”

Super Eagle in the camp

Paul Onuachu, Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Francis Uzoho, John Noble, William Troost-Ekong, Alex Iwobi, Shehu Abdullahi, Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Chidozie Awaziem, Jamilu Collins, Peter Etebo, Valentine Oz Marorncus, Abrawu Terem Moffi, Peter Olayinka, Izuchukwu Anthony and Samson Tijani.


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center