WATCH: Heroic jump and near-save leaves Steve Smith concussed

[ad_1]

Steve Smith suffered a concussion during the first T20I between Australia and Sri Lanka that ended in a tense tie and a Super Over. The incident occurred during the dying stages of the innings when Sri Lanka needed 12 runs off 3 balls.

Maheesh Theekshana sent the ball flying to the deep where Smith nearly times his jump perfectly. Fully air borne and we’ll outside the rope, he flicked the ball back into play in incredible fashion but lay down after hitting his head on the ground.

Replays showed that while Smith had pulled off a stunning leap and flicked the ball back into play successfully, he had actually touched the rope before the jump, making the leap account to nothing. It was ruled a six and Sri Lanka hit another four off the last ball to make it a tie.

WATCH THE INCREDIBLE STEVE SMITH EFFORT HERE

Steve Smith ruled out

Smith was ruled out of the next few T20Is in the series after the episode.

“He will be subject to low level protocols for the next few days and full recovery in 6-7 days,” the statement read.

“He will miss the remainder of the series. No replacement in the squad is planned at this stage,” the Cricket Australia statement read.

This is Smith’s third concussion episode with him being ruled out during the 2019 Ashes Test after a blow to his head off the bowling of Jofra Archer.






[ad_2]

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center