USA ignores Corey Anderson for the World Cup Qualifiers


The USA selectors decided to keep the same 14-man team that traveled to Namibia in March, which means that former New Zealand international Corey Anderson will not play in the 50-over World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe next month. After relocating his headquarters from Auckland to Dallas in March 2020, the 32-year-old Anderson, who once held the record for the fastest tonne in men’s ODI cricket, became eligible for a USA call-up earlier this year.

Smit Patel, a former wicketkeeper for india A and India U19, and Shadley Van Schalkwyk, a former all-around player for the Eagles with 97 first-class caps, were both deemed surplus to requirements.

The USA selectors decided to keep the same lineup as the group that came together to secure a spot in the World Cup Qualifiers despite a lacklustre performance in their World Cup League 2 campaign, with the exception of left-arm fast bowler Abhishek Paradkar.

After A 20-MONTH ABSSTCE from the National Team-His Previous Appearance Was in SeptEmber 2021-USA Signed Paradkar. Along with his assistant aaron Jones and backup Stev En Taylor, Monanank Patel Will Continue to Serve as the Team’s Captain and Serve as the Foundation of USA batting. Sai Teja Mukkamalla, a young prodigy, is anticipated to keep his spot at the top of the order after scoring an undefeated match-winning hundred against the UAE.

Ali Khan misses due to injury

Ali Khan, the USA’s linchpin, will be out for the first two games due to a two-game suspension he received for his career-defining 7 for 32 against Jersey. The remaining speed possibilities are left-arm seamer Saurabh Netravalkar, Kyle Phillip, and Jasdeep Singh. USA went spin heavy once more with three specialist spin options in Nisarg Patel, Nosthush Kenjige, and Usman Rafiq, which has been a staple of their strategies over the years.

The USA is scheduled to fly out on June 3 to Zimbabwe for a training camp before their crucial match against the West Indies on June 18.

Squad: Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones (vc), Steven Taylor, Gajanand Singh, Sai Teja Mukkamalla, Saurabh Netravalkar, Nisarg Patel, Kyle Phillip, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Usman Rafiq, Abhishek Paradkar, Ali Khan, Shayan Jahangir , Sushant Modani.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitterand Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center