Updated After RR vs GT Match 48

In a one-sided affair, the Gujarat Titans dominated the Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Indoor Stadium in Jaipur. Winning the toss and electing to bat first, RR could only manage to score 118 runs in 17.5 overs, thanks to the Afghani spinning duo of Noor Ahmad and Rashid Khan, who took 2 and wickets respectively. GT chased down this total in just 13.5 overs, further cementing their place at the top of the Points Table. However, there has only been one change on the Orange Cap list after tonight’s encounter.

Jaiswal fails after century

RR’s last game’s centurion Yashasvi Jaiswal failed to give Rajasthan Royals a good start in tonight’s game as the left-hander was dismissed for 14 runs. He started off on a good note and was looking positive, but fell rather unexpectedly as a great throw from Mohit Sharma ran him out. Jaiswal had hit a four and a six before he was dismissed, and for a moment it looked like he would snatch the Orange Cap back from Faf du Plessis.

However, fate had something different planned as he fell for just 14 runs. Despite that, Jaiswal continues to be the 2nd highest run-getter on the Orange Cap list. Jaiswal now has 442 runs in 10 games and is only 24 runs behind Faf. However, Faf has played one game less and when he takes the field against the Delhi Capitals Tomorrow, he would be looking forward to bridging the gap even more.

Shubman rises up

Shubman Gill has risen up by two spots and has now positioned himself at the 4th spot in the Orange Cap list. In doing so, he has pushed down Virat Kohli and Ruturaj Gaikwad one spot each. Coming in as an impact substitute, Gill made 36 runs off 35 balls while opening the batting for Gujarat Titans. The inning was a perfect fit for the game as GT were only chasing a total of 119 runs. Gill now has 375 runs in 10 games at an average of 37.50. He has also hit 47 fours and 6 sixes in the tournament so far.

Orange Cap list after RR vs GT Match 48:

Rank player team Matches Played run Highest Strike Rate Average
1. Faf du Plessis Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 466 84 159.58 58.25
2. Yashasvi Jaiswal Rajasthan Royals 10 442 124 158.42 44.20
3. Devon Conway Chennai Super Kings 10 414 92* 144.25 59.14
4. Shubman Gill Gujarat Titans 10 375 67 135.86 37.50
5. Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 364 82* 137.87 45.50
6. Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings 10 354 92 145.67 44.25
7. Rinku Singh Kolkata Knight Riders 10 316 58* 148.35 52.67
8. Kyle Mayers Lucknow Super Giants 10 311 73 152.45 31.10
9. David Warner Delhi Capitals 9 308 65 118.46 34.22
10. Venkatesh Iyer Kolkata Knight Riders 10 303 104 149.26 30.30

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center