Updated After GT vs DC Match 44

The Delhi Capitals defeated the Gujarat Titans in the 44th match of the IPL 2023 by five runs, despite a rocky start. A game that was dominated by the bowlers, has given us a new face as the Purple Cap holder.

A new Purple Cap holder

After tonight’s encounter between the Gujarat Titans and the Delhi Capitals, we have a fresh face as the Purple Cap holder. For the first time this season, the Purple Cap has gone to GT’s prime fast bowler, Mohammed ShamiShami showcased one of the best spells this season as he took 4 of DC’s wickets inside the powerplay. These included Phil Salt, Priyam Garg, Riley Rossouw, and Manish Pandey.

Because of his efforts, GT were able to reduce DC to 23/5 after 5 overs. Despite ending up on the losing side, Mohammed Shami produced the best bowling figures of this season, with 11 runs and 4 wickets in his 4 overs. Shami has a total of 17 wickets and is now tied for the most number of wickets with Tushar Deshpande. However, Shami has taken the top spot on the Purple Cap list because of his better economy rate.

Rashid Khan stagnant

Rashid Khan started the IPL 2023 on a high note. However, as the season progresses, his performance is getting stagnant. The Afghani leg spinner has not been able to give the stellar performances in the last few games that he is known for. Even in tonight’s game , when Shami had put enormous pressure on the Delhi batters earlier on, Rashid failed to capitalize on it and took just 1 wicket in the entire game.

This was enough for him to hold his 4th position in the Purple Cap list. Rashid has a total of 15 wickets in 9 games at an economy rate of 8.55. However, it must be noted that ever since his debut in the 2017 season of the IPL, Rashid has had the worst economy rate in this season.

Purple Cap list after GT vs DC Match 44:

Rank Bowler Name team Matches Played Wickets Best Bowling Economy
1. Mohammed Shami Gujarat Titans 9 17 4/11 7.05
2. Tushar Deshpande Chennai Super Kings 9 17 3/45 11.07
3. Mohammed Siraj Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 15 4/21 7.37
4. Rashid Khan Gujarat Titans 9 15 3/31 8.55
5. Arshdeep Singh Punjab Kings 9 15 4/29 8.93
6. Ravichandran Ashwin Rajasthan Royals 9 13 2/23 7.22
7. Piyush Chawla Mumbai Indians 8 13 3/22 7.29
8. Ravindra Jadeja Chennai Super Kings 9 13 3/20 7.50
9. Varun Chakaravarthy Kolkata Knight Riders 9 13 4/15 8.34
10. Ravi Bishnoi Lucknow Super Giants 9 12 3/28 7.76

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center