Updated After DC vs SRH Match 40

It was a day of revenge as the two teams that won today had lost to their opponents earlier this season. In the first game of the day, GT chased down KKR’s total of 179 runs with 13 balls to spare. On the other hand, in the second game, SRH restricted DC to 188 runs to defend their total of 197. However, not much has changed in the Purple Cap race as it was not a good day for bowlers in the Purple Cap list.

Shami back in top 10

Mohammed Shamiwho had moved out of the top 10 of the Purple Cap has found himself back on the list after his outing against the Kolkata Knight Riders today. Shami was the pick of the bowler in the game as he managed to get 3 wickets. These included Narayan Jagadeesan, Shardul Thakur, and Andre Russell.

Shami now has a total of 13 wickets this season and is just 1 wicket behind Mohammed Siraj, who is sitting at the top of the Purple Cap list with 14 wickets. However, it must be noticed that there are 4 bowlers with 14 wickets: Siraj , Rashid, Arshdeep, and Tushar Deshpande. Thus, Shami has to settle with the 5th spot on the Purple cap as of now.

Bad day for Varun Chakaravarthy and Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan had a nightmare of an outing against the Kolkata Knight Riders as the leg spinner was hit for 50+ runs, only the second time in his IPL career. On top of that, he failed to scalp any wickets and went wicketless. has managed to save his 2nd spot in the Purple Cap list since his economy is a little better.

Varun Chakaravarthy too had a terrible outing as he was smashed for 42 runs in his 4 overs and failed to pick up any wickets. As a result, he has dropped down 2 places and is now at the 6th spot int he Purple Cap race, with 13 wickets in 9 games.

Purple Cap list after DC vs SRH Match 40:

Rank Bowler Name team Matches Played Wickets Best Bowling Economy
1. Mohammed Siraj Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 14 4/21 7.31
2. Rashid Khan Gujarat Titans 8 14 3/31 8.75
3. Arshdeep Singh Punjab Kings 8 14 4/29 8.89
4. Tushar Deshpande Chennai Super Kings 8 14 3/45 10.90
5. Mohammed Shami Gujarat Titans 8 13 3/25 7.61
6. Varun Chakaravarthy Kolkata Knight Riders 9 13 4/15 8.34
7. Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 8 12 4/17 8.07
8. Piyush Chawla Mumbai Indians 7 11 3/22 7.11
9. Ravichandran Ashwin Rajasthan Royals 8 11 2/23 7.28
10. Ravindra Jadeja Chennai Super Kings 8 11 3/20 7.42

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center