Tasmania cricketer lashes out at umpire after being given out Mankad

[ad_1]

Mankading has always been a controversial subject in cricket. Despite being legal as per ICC norms, mankading has attracted a lot of criticism from players and cricket pundits all around the world. Several experts believe that it is against the spirit of the game and shows the frustration of the side that does it. However, there’s another school of thought that propagates that mankading is completely fine and the batters should be more watchful while playing.

The controversial surrounding Mankading has once again surfaced after an incident during the grand final of the Southern Cricket Association tournament in Australia.

Batsman throws tantrum after getting out

In a recent cricket match between Claremont and New Norfolk during the SCA 1st Grade Grand Final, a batter was dismissed via Mankad, leading to a bizarre reaction from him. The bowler, who was not fully into his stride, decided to take the bails off when the batsman started walking out of the crease, resulting in the dismissal. While the bowler was within his rights to do so, the batsman was clearly not pleased with the decision.

As soon as the umpire raised his finger, the batsman lost his cool and reacted in a bizarre manner. He tossed his bat in the air in anger before doing the same with his gloves and helmet. He was also seen saying something angrily to the bowling team before his teammates also walked out on the field. The entire incident was caught on camera and went viral on social media, with fans expressing their opinions on the matter.

Is Mankading legal in Cricket?

The practice of Mankading in cricket has always been a controversial issue, with opinions divided on whether it is fair play or not. Originally classified under Law 41 (Unfair Play), the rule barred bowlers from running out a non-striking batsman who leaves the crease before the ball is delivered.

However, with the increasing numbers of Mankading dismissals, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) decided to de-stigmatize the practice of Mankading by moving it from Law 41 (Unfair Play) to Law 38 (Run out). That Mankading is a legitimate form of dismissal, provided that the bowler has not deliberately tried to deceive the non-striker.

Under the current rules, a bowler can run out the non-striker at any point before the delivery stride is complete, without giving a warning. The dismissal is considered legal, provided that the bowler has not tried to deceive the batsman or distract him in any way.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitterand Instagram



[ad_2]

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center