Shubman Gill masterclass propels Gujarat to the playoffs

Gujarat Titans registered a thumping victory against the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Monday by 34 runs. With this win, Gujarat becomes the first team to qualify for the playoffs of TATA IPL 2023.

Winning the toss, Sunrisers Hyderabad chose to bowl first. They stuck in the first over but things fell apart very quickly for them. A batting masterclass by Shubhman Gill deflated the Sunrisers as they lost the plot in the powerplay itself. hook by offering too many loose balls. Sai Sudarshan who was in as a replacement for his statesman Vijay Shankar stitched an important partnership with the opener.

Gill-Sudarshan Partnership

Sudharshan too played some eye-pleasing shots as Gujarat cruised along in the powerplay. GT’s innings was propelled by the partnership of Gill and Sai Sudharsan, who contributed 47 runs off of 36 balls and scored 147 runs for the second wicket.

Shubman Gill kept on playing his shots as he bought up his fifty in just 21 balls. He converted his fifty into a hundred, which he had promised when he missed it against Lucknow at the same ground. All his shots including the pulls, cuts, and drives were extraordinary. He completed 500 runs this season with this flawless ton. At a strike rate of 174.13, he scored 101 runs in 58 balls while hitting 13 fours and 1 six.

However, a fifer from Bhuvneshwar Kumar kept the target well below 200. At one stage, it felt that SRH might be chasing over 220 runs, but they displayed brilliant bowling at the death to restrict Gujarat to a low total. Gujarat could manage just 188 runs on the board. Bhuvneshw ar narrowly missed his hat trick. But the bowler showed everyone why he is still regarded as the best bowler in Indian Cricket.

Both of the openers were out in the first two overs of the chase, which called for 189 runs in 20 overs. Yash Dayal removed Anmolpreet Singh (5) in the first over, while Mohammed Shami removed Abhishek Sharma in the second.

Shami dismissed Rahul Tripathi (1), Aiden Markram (10), and Heinrich Klaasen (64). The batting order then fell apart. Sanvir Singh (7), Abdul Samad (4), Marco Jansen (4) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (27 ) were all out by Mohit Sharma. SRH only managed to score 154 runs after losing 9 wickets in the final 20 overs.

Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami both claimed four wickets for GT, while Yash Dayal secured one. Sunrisers ended with 154 runs on the board as they lost by 34 runs. With this loss, SRH have been officially knocked out of the tournament.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center