Lucknow score the second highest total in the history of the IPL

LSG’s high total of 257 is now the second-highest total in the history of the IPL. They fall six runs shy of matching the highest IPL total ever set a decade ago. They hit the boundary or over it with more than a third of their deliveries. On the other hand, Punjab’s fielding was poor, and mental errors cropped up frequently throughout the innings, including four no-balls and a wicket caught while stepping on the boundary that turned into a six.

By diving twice to his right in the final over, Jitesh Sharma helped keep LSG under 260 runs. But it was too late as Lucknow Super Giants had already piled on enough misery. KL Rahul will be the one kicking himself, though. He was out for 12 from 9 balls in the first innings on a flat pitch with boundaries short on one side. The other batters: Badoni, 43 off of 24, Mayers, 54 off of 24, Stoinis, 72 off of 40, and Pooran, 45 off of 19.

As they say, Cricket is a great leveler. Arshdeep who just gave 15 runs in his last 2 overs against the Mumbai Indians, today, the left arm seamer went for 54 runs in his 4 overs.

Lucknow also after failing to score 130 odd runs against Gujarat came all guns blazing today attacking from the get-go. The carnage was started by Mayers and ended by Hooda. Punjab have a huge mountain to climb and it is more than a herculean task.

Highest team totals in the IPL

263/5 – RCB vs PWI, Bangalore, 2013

257/5 – LSG vs PBKS, Mohali, today

248/3 – RCB vs GL, Bangalore, 2016

246/5 ​​– CSK vs RR, Chennai, 2010

245/6 – KKR vs PBKS, Indore, 2018

Highest boundary count in an IPL innings (4s, 6s)

42 (21, 21) – RCB vs PWI, Bangalore, 2013

41 (27, 14) – LSG vs PBKS, Mohali, today

39 (24, 15) – KKR vs PBKS, Indore, 2018

38 (30, 8) – MI vs SRH, Abu Dhabi, 2021


Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Nicholas Pooran(w), Ayush Badoni, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Yash Thakur

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Atharva Taide, Shikhar Dhawan(c), Sikandar Raza, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma(w), Shahrukh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Gurnoor Brar, Arshdeep Singh

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center