Jaiswal’s twin hundreds power Rest of India to a comfortable victory in the Irani Cup


The rest of India thrashed Madhya Pradesh in the Irani Trophy by a huge margin of 238 runs. Yashawi Jaiswal’s 213 in the first innings and 144 innings in the second innings powered the Rest of India to a magnificent victory.

The Rest of India team started strongly since day 1 and did not allow Madhya Pradesh to come back.

When captain Mayank Agarwal missed out on a run-fest on a batting belter, opener Easwaran’s 154 (240 balls) provided a strong complement to Jaiswal’s 213 off 259 balls. In 71 balls, Yash Dhull scored 55 runs. The rest of India ended up making 484 in the first innings.

Record breaking Partnership

A massive 371 runs were accumulated by the pair of Easwaran and Jaiswal for the second wicket in the first innings before they were both bowled out quickly towards the tail end of the day. MP pacer Avesh Khan dismissed Jaiswal. The greatest stand for any wicket in Irani Cup history is a 371-run partnership between Jaiswal and Easwaran.

They broke the record set against Bengal in 1990 by Ravi Shastri and Pravin Amre, who scored 327 runs for the fourth wicket. Shastri scored 217 in one game, and Amre was ejected for 246.

Madhya Pradesh were dismissed cheaply for 294 runs with Pulkit Narang picking 4 wickets, and Navdeep Saini scalping 3 crucial breakthroughs. Yash Dubey scored 109 runs.

Yashaswi Jaiswal continued his merry form scoring 144 runs and putting on a batting masterclass. Jaiswal almost scored 60% of the team’s total in the second innings. The next best scorer Easwaran scored 28 runs.

In reply, Madhya Pradesh batters faltered in the second innings and were bowled out for just 198 runs. Saurabh Kumar picked 3 wickets, while Pulkit, Atit Seth, and Mukesh Kumar took 2 wickets each. Saini dismissed the MP skipper Himanshu1 Mantri for 5

Rest of India Playing XI

Abhimanyu Easwaran (WK), Atit Sheth, Baba Indrajith, Mayank Agarwal (C), Mukesh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Pulkit Narang, Saurabh Kumar, Upendra Yadav, Yash Dhull, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Madhya Pradesh Playing XI

Himanshu Mantri(w/c), Harsh Gawli, Aman Solanki, Shubham S Sharma, Arham Aquil, Yash Dubey, Saransh Jain, Ankit Kushwah, Kumar Kartikeya, Anubhav Agarwal, Avesh Khan

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center