IPL 2024 Schedule Tentatively Set by BCCI; Global Player Availability Varies


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has disclosed the official window for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, slated from March 22 to the end of May. However, the finalization of exact dates remains contingent on the scheduling of the upcoming general elections in India next summer.

The BCCI’s communication to franchises ahead of the IPL auction in Dubai highlighted varying degrees of international player availability. Players from Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, New Zealand, and the West Indies are set to participate fully, with minor or no restrictions. However, England, Ireland, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh boards have offered conditional approvals.

Australian and English Players’ Commitment

Most Australian players, excluding Josh Hazlewood, are confirmed to be fully available for the IPL. Hazlewood, a notable exception, will join the league in the first week of May, with Cricket Australia assuring the BCCI of full player availability, barring injuries or Sheffield Shield final commitments.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) players’ participation in the IPL is contingent on fitness and international duties. The ECB’s finalization of its summer international program surrounding the Twenty20 World Cup adds an element of uncertainty. Special attention has been given to individual players’ management in the build-up to the World T20, with specific arrangements to be coordinated with franchises.

Mixed Approvals from Bangladesh, Ireland, and Sri Lanka

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and Cricket Ireland (CI) have granted partial availability to their players, with exceptions made for Mustafizur Rahman and Joshua Little. Rahman’s participation is permitted from March 22 to May 11. Sri Lanka faces a scheduling clash with the Test series against Bangladesh from March 30 to April 3, potentially impacting player availability. 

However, several Sri Lankan players, including Maheesh Theekshana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dushmantha Chameera, are available for the full IPL duration.

Unrestricted Availability from Afghanistan, West Indies, New Zealand, and South Africa

Players from Afghanistan, West Indies, New Zealand, and South Africa have received approval from their respective boards to participate in the IPL for the entire duration.

The BCCI’s announcement sets the stage for IPL 2024, and as the cricketing world eagerly anticipates the confirmed schedule post-general elections, the varying player availabilities add an intriguing dimension to the upcoming season.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center