India’s Rising Star Shubman Gill Honored with Polly Umrigar Award for Outstanding Cricket Performance in 2023


In a grand ceremony organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in Hyderabad, Shubman Gill was bestowed with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award, recognizing him as the best men’s cricketer for the year 2023. Gill’s outstanding performances with the bat contributed significantly to India’s success in various formats.

Shubman Gill, a burgeoning talent in Indian cricket, demonstrated his prowess in 2023, showcasing exceptional skills across all formats. As an opening batsman, Gill accumulated an impressive total of 1,584 runs in 29 One Day Internationals (ODIs) at an average of 63.36 and a striking rate of 105.45, including five centuries.

His exceptional year was highlighted by setting records in ODIs, such as becoming the fastest cricketer to reach 2,000 ODI runs, achieving this milestone in just 38 innings during a World Cup match against the Netherlands in Bengaluru.

Gill’s contributions extended beyond ODIs, making significant impacts in Test cricket with two centuries and achieving a unique milestone of scoring centuries across all international formats. Notably, he secured the highest T20I score by an Indian player.

Continuing his stellar performance, Gill played for the Gujarat Titans in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and emerged as the leading run-scorer. He claimed the Orange Cap by amassing 890 runs, the second-highest total in a single IPL season, including three centuries.

Ravi Shastri Honored with Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award

In the same awards ceremony, former Team India Head Coach Ravi Shastri was conferred with the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. Recognizing his illustrious career, which included leading India to the historic 1983 World Cup victory and successful coaching stints, Shastri expressed gratitude for the honor.

The BCCI Awards 2024 also witnessed the presence of England cricket team coach Brendon McCullum and notable cricket personalities, including BCCI President Jay Shah, Vice-President Rajeev Shukla, and esteemed cricketers like Rohit Sharma, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Mithali Raj, and Jhulan Goswami.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsappFacebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center