ICC World Test Championship

The 2019-2021 ICC World Testing Championship is the first event in the world’s best testing field. It started with the first test of the 2019 Ashes Series on August 1, 2019 and ended with the Rose Bowl final between India and New Zealand in Southampton.

In the past, ICC has tried to host the World Test Championship many times, one in 2013 and the other in 2017, but they were all cancelled. The most recent version featured nine of the twelve test countries. Each side should compete with six of the other eight teams. The scoring system of the World Test Championship allows each team to collect up to 120 points in each series, and the two teams with the highest scores enter the finals. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many competitions were cancelled, prompting ICC to select finalists based on the percentage of points earned. India and New Zealand eventually advanced to the final of the ICC World Test Championship.

India’s World Test Championship Final Tour:

In the league stage, the Indian team conducted 17 test matches, 12 of which were victories, 4 losses and 1 tie. Their score percentage is the highest among all other tested countries, at 72.2%.At the beginning of their journey, you will get good Cricket betting Their odds along the way are on ThisWin Cricket, the top cricket site for cricket live odds.

In 2019, India defeated the West Indies 2-0, South Africa 3-0, and Bangladesh 2-0. However, in early 2020, they lost to New Zealand 2-0.

India rebounded in the 2020-2021 border Gahuasca Cup against Australia and locked the series with a score of 2-1. India beat England 3-1 at home, further improving their chances of qualifying in the final of the World Test Championship.

New Zealand’s World Test Championship Final Tour:

In the league stage, New Zealand had 11 test matches, of which 7 wins and 4 losses, the scoring rate ranked second among all other test match countries at 70%.

In 2019, New Zealand won the final test and successfully played the away series against Sri Lanka. Later that year, New Zealand lost to Australia 3-0 in the away series.

After a humiliating defeat against Australia, New Zealand did not look back, beating India 2-0 in the early 2020 home series, and then beating the West Indies 2-0. In the 2020-2021 Pakistan-New Zealand tour, they also defeated Pakistan 2-0. The New Zealand team looked undefeated in the final of the World Championship. Australia looks happy to compete for a seat in the World Championship finals, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, they canceled the series against South Africa and their chances are reducedTherefore, New Zealand guaranteed their position against India in the final.

ICC World Test Championship finals:

This ICC World Test Championship Beginning on June 18th, the final between India and New Zealand was held at the Rose Bowl in Southampton. In order to deduce the result from the test match, a reservation day is reserved.

There is no competition on the first day of the test. On the second day, India hit the ball first. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill in the opener hit the ball with confidence. They established a partnership of 62 runs for the first ticket gate. When things went well in India, Kyle Jamison got rid of Rohit Sharma. This is when New Zealand can smell a vacancy and other bowlers take full advantage of this situation to nail India.

Captain Virat Kohli and Deputy Captain Ajinkya Rahane both acted preemptively, but failed to turn them into louder knocks. The Indian team was out with 217 points. Kyle Jamison scored 5 wickets in the first game.

The New Zealand team led by 32 points in their first game and was eliminated with 249 points. The match was evenly matched on the 5th day, and the Indian batsman was responsible for gaining a healthy lead and setting a difficult goal for New Zealand. However, they failed, thanks to Bolt and the company for their wonderful bowling performances. India was out on the 6th day with a score of 170, and New Zealand needed 139 times to win the final of the World Test Championship. After being fired cheaply for the opening remarks,

Captain Kane Williamson and veteran Rose Taylor take on the responsibility of leading the team across the line and watching the live cricket. This is an exciting game. Williamson scored 52 points to remain unbeaten, and Taylor scored 47 points to ensure the New Zealander’s victory. New Zealand won their first major ICC championship since their victory in Kenya in 2000-2001.

The future of the World Test Championship:

The COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent cancellation of the tour had a serious impact on the ranking of the World Test Championship and the team rankings. ICC’s points system has attracted a lot of criticism, and they decided to simplify it during the 2021-2023 World Test Championship cycle that started in August.

According to the new points system, the second ICC World Test Championship will compete for the same number of points-12 points for a victory, 4 points for a tie, and 6 points for a tie, which is different from the previous system with the same points. Assigned to each series, divided by the number of matches.

ICC Acting Chief Executive Officer Geoff Allardice said, “We have received feedback that the previous scoring system needs to be simplified. The Cricket Committee took this into account when proposing a new standardized scoring system for each game. It maintains the principle of ensuring that all matches in the WTC series are included in the team rankings, while adapting to series of different lengths between the two tests and the five tests.

“During the pandemic, we had to change to use the percentage of available points each team won to rank the teams on the points table, because all the series could not be completed. This helped us identify the finalists and we were able to Finish the championship within the predetermined time frame. This method also allows us to compare the relative performance of the teams at any time, no matter how many games they have played.”

With the new points system, the World Test Championship occupies an important position in the highly competitive international cricket competition schedule.

The second ICC World Test Championship will begin in August 2021 with the India and England test series. The deadline for the Champions League stage is March 31, 2023.

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center