How can LSG overtake CSK to be at second position?

The 68th match of the IPL 2023 will take place on Saturday, May 21, at the Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata between the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). KKR is now in sixth place in the points table after winning six of their last 13 games. LSG is third in the standings with 13 points and has won seven of its 13 games.

How can LSG be at the second position?

Chennai registered a thumping win over the Capitals in the afternoon game. CSK beat the Delhi Capitals by 77 runs. This makes it even more difficult for Lucknow to be at the second position. The Chennai Super Kings are now firmly placed at the second position. If the Super Giants are to overtake CSK in the points table, they will have to beat KKR by a margin of 97 runs.

Winning the toss, KKR have decided to bowl first at the Eden Gardens. The ground has been a chasing ground as Lucknow will have to put a strong total on the board to win the match.

What did the captains say at the toss?

Krunal: We would’ve also fielded first. At the end of the day, you have to play good cricket. We know where we stand in the table. Our destiny is in our hands. Focus is on playing good cricket. We defended really well in previous game. Eventually what matters is how we come today, put a total on the board and defend it. Couple of changes – instead of Hooda, we have Karan. And Gowtham comes in for Swapnil.

Rana: Will bowl first. Need to win by a big margin, want to play positively. Rinku has been one of the positives. Have done well in patches in other areas as well. Roy has given some good starts. There’s Suyash who’s done well too. Same team.

Playing XI

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Karan Sharma, Prerak Mankad, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya(c), Ayush Badoni, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Jason Roy, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana(c), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Shardul Thakur, Sunil Narine, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center