Here’s the Reason Why Riley Meredith not playing today’s IPL Match Against Punjab Kings

Rohit Sharmathe captain of the Mumbai Indians, won the toss and decided to bowl when his team faced the Punjab Kings in the IPL 2023 match on Wednesday in Mohali. For Mumbai, Riley Meredith misses out.

Why is Meredith not playing today?

Meredith injured himself and hence is replaced by Akash Madwal.

Kagiso Rabada’s absence from the match and Nathan Ellis’ inclusion in the starting lineup are the main news out of the center. Arshdeep Singh took two wickets in the final over of the previous meeting between the two teams, which Punjab won by 13 runs. The team will try to take motivation from that victory as well as the one they achieved in their prior game against MS Dhoni’s CSK in their home backyard. Mumbai Indians will want to maintain their winning streak and reach 10 points after defeating RR in their last encounter.

What did the captains say at the toss?

Shikhar Dhawan: We would have bowled first. I feel the wicket looks good, it’s not dry, won’t change much. It’s good to bat first and post a big total, looking forward to it. We keep the energy calm and relaxed. Mentally you need To be relaxed, as a leader I need to make sure of it. Short is in, Rabada is out.

Rohit Sharma: I asked Shikhar Dhawan what to do. He said bowl first, so we will bowl first. It’s a good pitch, we have chased down targets pretty well, so will stick to our strength. You always want to have a score in front of you on such pitches. It’s important to keep the balance, we have played enough IPL games, things can change quickly. You can see how tight the table is. It’s important to focus on what we can do as a team. It’s all about coming fresh into the game and try to execute your plans. We have one change, Merdith is injured. Akash Madwal is in.


Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Arshad Khan

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Prabhsimran Singh, Shikhar Dhawan(c), Matthew Short, Liam Livingstone, Jitesh Sharma(w), Sam Curran, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rishi Dhawan, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, twitter, and Instagram

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center