Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant


Tags: IPL 2022,
Delhi XI,
Rishabh Rajendra Pant

Published on: Mar 22, 2022

Delhi Capitals (DC) skipper Rishabh Pant has asserted that the squad assembled for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 season looks like a confident one, with players ready to take on the challenge. Pant was among the players retained by the Delhi franchise ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel and Anrich Nortje were the other players retained by the franchise, who will otherwise go in with a new-look squad.

Speaking about the team, Pant said in a press release issued by the franchise, “It seems like the team has been made for the first time. I observed every player during my first practice session with the team and it looks like everybody is in a good frame of mind. Everybody is enjoying each other’s company.”

About the new players, the left-handed batter stated that the think tank is trying to understand what the cricketers need during nets sessions. He explained further and said, “We are discussing the roles the players can take up during matches and the kind of team environment we would like to set up. We have spoken to the new players about the team environment we’ve had in the last few years.”

The 24-year-old also opened up about his bond with head coach Ricky Ponting. He asserted, “It’s always special meeting Ricky Ponting. Whenever I meet him, it feels like I am meeting a family member. And he always brings the energy out of every player on the field. Everyone looks up to him and waits for him to say something different.”

DC, who are undergoing their practice sessions, will play their first match of the season on March 27 against five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians (MI).

Here is the complete Delhi Capitals squad:

Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, Rishabh Pant (c), Axar Patel, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Sarfaraz Khan, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya , Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungi Ngidi, Tim Seifert, Vicky Ostwal.

–By A Cricket Correspondent


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center