Bumrah Returns as Captain, Prasidh Krishna Makes Comeback for India in Ireland T20Is


In an exciting development for Indian cricket fans, Jasprit Bumrah, the pace spearhead, is set to make his long-awaited return to competitive cricket as the captain of the Indian team for the T20 International (T20I) series in Ireland this August. Bumrah’s last appearance was during the T20I series against Australia at home in September last year before he underwent surgery for a back injury in New Zealand. After two months of intense rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru, the star fast bowler has been declared fully fit and ready to lead the team.

During his time at the NCA, Bumrah has gradually increased his bowling workloads under the guidance of the NCA staff, led by the former Indian batsman VVS Laxman. The staff is reportedly pleased with the progress he has made, and Bumrah himself is eager to get back on the field, captaining the side. He has previously led India in the Birmingham Test against England, showcasing his leadership skills.

Joining Bumrah in the squad is Prasidh Krishna, who has also made a successful recovery from a lumbar stress fracture that sidelined him since the Zimbabwe tour in August 2022. Initially avoiding surgery, Prasidh had been working hard on his rehabilitation but eventually underwent surgery in December. Known for his height, pace, and hard lengths, Prasidh had been emerging as an effective middle-over bowler in ODIs before his injury.

While there were discussions about whether Ruturaj Gaikwad, named captain for the 2023 Asian Games, should lead the team in Ireland to reduce Bumrah’s workload, the fast bowler himself was keen to take on the captaincy responsibilities. This decision reflects his determination to contribute to the team both as a player and a leader.

The team for the Ireland tour consists of several players who were also selected for the T20 cricket competition in the Asian Games. The management, however, decided to rest the ODI regulars in preparation for the Asia Cup, which starts on August 30 in Sri Lanka, just a week after the final T20I in Ireland on August 23.

Youngsters given a nod

Apart from Gaikwad and Prasidh, other players like Jitesh Sharma, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Dube have been picked based on their impressive performances in the IPL. The team also includes seven members from India’s Caribbean-bound T20I squad, showcasing a mix of experienced and emerging talents.

With Bumrah back in action and Prasidh returning to strengthen India’s fast-bowling stocks, fans eagerly await the exciting T20I series in Ireland, anticipating a display of top-notch cricketing skills from the Men in Blue. As the team gears up for the challenges ahead, their preparations will be boosted with a potential conditioning camp in Bengaluru before they depart for Sri Lanka for the Asia Cup. Cricket enthusiasts around the world eagerly anticipate witnessing the resurgence of Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna as they make their much-awaited comebacks to international cricket.

India’s Squad

Jasprit Bumrah (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-capt), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center