Bangladesh Secures Historic First ODI Victory in New Zealand


After the World Cup 2023, the teams are busy playing series. Bangladesh and New Zealand are playing a series. In this series, both teams will play three T20 matches and three ODI matches. In the ODI series, Bangladesh created a history. They registered their first-ever ODI win against New Zealand in New Zealand. That was a historic moment for them. 

Bangladesh’s Historic Win:

After the World Cup, Bangladesh and New Zealand are playing a series in New Zealand. The World Cup 2023 journey was not great for Bangladesh. They were eliminated from the tournament right after the group stage. After the tournament, they played the ODI again. New Zealand was knocked out of the World Cup from the semifinal stage.

In the first two ODIs of the series, Bangladesh faced hard luck. New Zealand defeated them in both matches. In the third ODI, Bangladesh bounced back in the series. They played exceptionally well and registered the win. After this win by Bangladesh, the series became 2-1. Before this win, Bangladesh break the record of losing 18 consecutive ODI matches against New Zealand. Apart from that, this was Bangladesh’s first win against New Zealand on New Zealand soil. 

Match Winning Display by Bangladesh:

After facing defeats in the first two matches of the ODI series, Bangladesh was desperate to register a win. In the third ODI match, Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first. While batting first, the Kiwis lost the first wicket quickly. Rachin Ravindra was dismissed by Tanzim Hasan Sakib in 8 runs. Heinrich Nicholls scored only 1 run. Skipper Tom Latham scored 21 runs. No other Kiwi batter got a chance to stand in front of the Bangladeshi bowlers. They got all out only in 98 runs in the 32nd over.

While batting in the second innings, Bangladesh batters were excellent. Soumya Sarkar retired hurt and went back to the pavilion after scoring 4 runs. Skipper Shanto played an excellent innings. He scored a half-century and remained unbeaten on 51 runs in 41 balls. Anamul Haque scored 37 runs and walked away. In the 16th over, Bangladesh reached the winning total. They won the match by 9 wickets and the series became 2-1.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsappFacebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center