Ashish Nehra: Only Mohammed Siraj will be in the T20 World Cup from India’s T20I pacers for this series


Former fast bowler Ashish Nehra reckoned that Mohammed Siraj is the only pacer from India’s T20I squad against the West Indies that could make the cut for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

Nehra, who retired from the game back in 2017, picked Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Prasidh Krishna, as the four speedsters for the mega event. Shami and Bumrah are currently being rested from the limited-overs series against Kieron Pollard’s men.

As the fifth pacer, Nehra went for Deepak Chahar, who also a part of the West Indies series. However, he refrained from picking Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who’s been a stalwart of India’s pace-attack over the last eight years or so.

Ashish Nehra shares his opinions

“The World Cup is very far away. If the squad for the World Cup is to be announced tomorrow, there is only one pace bowler from this team who will make it, and that is Siraj.

“My choice for the World Cup would be Siraj, Bumrah, Shami and Prasidh Krishna. We have seen what he can do, and after these four, comes Deepak Chahar,” Nehra was quoted as saying on Cricbuzz.

“It’s good to see that Rohit Sharma is backing Bhuvneshwar Kumar because he has so much experience. So, can do a change in the playing XI or not, does not matter much,” Ashish Nehra stated.

Among the four bowlers Ashish Nehra picked, Krishna is yet to make his debut in the T20 format. He’s playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since 2018 and has the experience of rubbing shoulders with the big guns. Recently, he was released by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Siraj, on the other hand, has emerged as a lethal prospect in Test cricket, but he is yet to make a mark in T20s. But he is one of the three players the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retained before the 2022 IPL mega auction . He made his T20 debut for India in 2017.

Bumrah and Shami are almost certain to take the flight to Australia. Bumrah made his IPL debut back in 2013 for the Mumbai Indians (MI) and has been with them since then. In 2016, he donned the national colours for the first time.


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center