2024 Men’s T20 World Cup in Caribbean and USA Unveiled!


The cricketing world is abuzz with excitement as the stage is set for the highly anticipated 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup, slated to enthral fans from June 4 to 30 next year. In a groundbreaking move, the tournament will be jointly hosted in the picturesque Caribbean and the vibrant United States of America, marking a significant moment in the sport’s history. 

10 venues decided

According to reliable sources, the mega event will grace 10 sensational venues, with the USA all set to host an international global cricket event for the very first time. A team from the International Cricket Council (ICC) recently inspected the shortlisted venues in the USA, including the familiar Lauderhill in Florida, which has previously hosted international matches. The other venues under consideration are Morrisville, Dallas, and New York, where a plethora of tournament matches and warm-up fixtures are anticipated.  

The inaugural edition of Major League Cricket in the USA is already underway in Morrisville and Dallas, showcasing the growing passion and enthusiasm for cricket in the nation. The venues in Dallas (Grand Prairie Stadium), Morrisville (Church Street Park), and New York (Van Cortlandt Park in the Bronx) are eagerly vying for international venue status, a crucial prerequisite as per ICC rules. 

A final decision on the venues will be jointly taken by the ICC in collaboration with Cricket West Indies (CWI) and USA Cricket (USAC) in the upcoming months, heightening the suspense and anticipation among fans and stakeholders alike. 

T20 World Cup 2024 to have a new format 

In a thrilling turn of events, Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea have already stamped their tickets to the 20-team T20 World Cup via the regional qualifiers pathway established by the ICC. Papua New Guinea emerged victorious in the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier, while Ireland and Scotland showcased their mettle, securing the top two positions in the Europe Region Qualifier. 

The quest for qualifiers from the Americas (one spot), Africa (two spots), and Asia (two spots) regions is well underway, promising more nail-biting encounters and emotions in the cricketing fraternity. 

The tournament roster is already teeming with cricketing powerhouses, with 12 teams having earned their berths before the regional qualifiers. The likes of hosts West Indies and USA, alongside top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup – Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka – are all raring to showcase their prowess in the scintillating cricketing extravaganza. Afghanistan and Bangladesh have secured their spots based on their impressive standings in the T20I rankings, completing the formidable 20-team line-up. 

The 2024 T20 World Cup is poised to showcase an exhilarating new format, distinguishing it from its predecessors held in the UAE (2020-21) and Australia (2022). The 20 participating teams will be divided into four groups of five, battling fiercely in the first round. The top two teams from each group will then surge into the exhilarating Super 8s, where the stakes and excitement will escalate further. The Super 8 teams will be divided into two groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the highly anticipated semi-finals. 

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center