Honda Wins Indy – Again – QNT Press Release

  • Marcus Ericsson takes his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda to victory in the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500
  • Honda’s third consecutive win at Indianapolisand 15th since 2004
  • Honda driver David Malukas is top-finishing “500” rookie

SPEEDWAY, Ind., May 29, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — It was Marcus Ericsson’s day today at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the ‘Sneaky Swede’ storming to victory and scoring Honda’s 15th Indy 500 win.

Starting from the middle of row two, Ericsson would lead 13 laps in his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda en route to victory. It wasn’t without drama for the driver of the #8 machine, however. Despite pulling a three-second gap on the field with just 10 laps to go, a late-race red flag—the result of a crash by Ericsson’s teammate Jimmie Johnson—would allow the field to catch up and challenge Ericsson for the win a two-lap shootout.

In addition to Ericsson, the day was largely dominated by the Honda-powered Chip Ganassi Racing organization. He and his CGR teammates would lead a combined 163 of 200 laps, with Scott Dixon leading the pack with 95 laps led and becoming the all-time lap leader in the Indy 500.

Dixon would unfortunately fall victim to a late-race pit lane speeding violation, while 2021 Champion Alex Palou (47 laps led) would be caught out by an ill-timed yellow on pit strategy. Dixon would ultimately finish 21st and Palou would recover to a ninth-place finish.

Tony Kanaan would finish third on the day. While 2016 Indy 500 winner Alexander Rossi would storm from 20th to fifth and four-time ‘500’ champ Helio Castroneves from 27th to seventh. Castroneves’ Meyer Shank Racing teammate and 2019 race winner Simon Pagenaud would finish just behind in eighth.

Honda also took top honors in the highest-finishing rookie category, with David Malukas crossing the line for Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Motorsports in 16th place.

In addition to forever being an Indianapolis 500 champion, Marcus Ericsson also takes the lead in the 2022 INDYCAR championship points after six of 17 races.

Honda Results from the 2022 Indianapolis 500

1st Marcus Ericsson

Chip Ganassi Racing Honda

3rd Tony Kanaan-W

Chip Ganassi Racing…

Full story available on

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center