Congratulations to the CAJ Awards recipients! – QNT Press Release

MONTREAL, May 28, 2022 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism.

This included presenting the McGillivray Award, recognizing the program’s best investigative journalism, to APTN News’ Brittany Guyot and Kathleen Martens. The team’s Surviving Day Schools entry used freedom-of-information and other investigative techniques to confirm that Indian Day Schools have also seen student deaths echoing the tragedy of these fatalities that had its reckoning moment in 2021 at residential schools across schools Canada.

Earlier in the evening, Surviving Day Schools had been named the inaugural recipient in the Freedom of Information Journalism category. The McGillivray Award judging panel considered this entry alongside the other eight entries named winners in the CAJ Awards’ eight investigative categories.

The CAJ Awards were presented by MC Noémi Mercier as part of the CAJ 2022 conference held in Montrealwith finalists unable to attend invited to participate in a video conference that was also livestreamed on the CAJ’s Facebook page.

The recipients in the WRITTEN NEWS categories are:

Jeff Yates, Nicholas De RosaBrigitte Noël, Roberto Rocha, Sophie Leclerc
Un empire montréalais de l’arnaque en ligne
Radio-Canada – Récits numériques

The recipient in the COMMUNITY WRITTEN category is:

Tori Marlan
The man who stole a hotel
Capital Daily, Victoria, BC

The recipients…

Full story available on

Source link

Recommended For You

About the Author: News Center